Meeting Room Basics

Once you have joined a virtual meeting in Zoom, the meeting room will look similar to the one pictured below.

Zoom meeting window

In addition to the sections below, more information about in-meeting controls can be found in the Zoom Help Center.

The toolbar located toward the bottom of the meeting center window provides you with ways to manage your audio and video, share content, open meeting panels, and more.

Zoom meeting toolbar

 

After you have joined a meeting, you can manage your audio and video from the bottom toolbar.

 

Managing Audio

  • Click on the Microphone icon to quickly mute and unmute your audio.Muting and unmuting audio
  • Click on the up arrow next to the Microphone icon to manage more advanced audio settings, such as your microphone and speaker selection.Zoom audio options

     

Managing Video

  • Click on the Camera icon to quickly turn your video on and off.turning video on and off
  • Click on the up arrow next to the Camera icon to manage more advance video settings.Zoom video options

 

During a meeting, a Security button will be present in the host’s and co-host's toolbars. This button gives them quick access to some of the most commonly used features for managing meeting attendance and privileges, including the ability to:

  • Lock/unlock the meeting.
  • Enable/Disable the waiting room.
  • Hide participants' profile pictures
  • Manage participant privileges (e.g. the ability to share content, use the Chat Panel, and more)
  • Suspend participant activities
The Security button and menu

 

NOTE: The "Suspend Participant Activities" option is like an emergency brake for your meeting. If enabled, the meeting will be locked, screen sharing will stop, and all participant audio and video will be turned off (including hosts and cohosts).

 

During a meeting, click on the Participants icon to open the Participants Panel, where you can see who has joined the meeting and provide feedback to the group.

The Participant button and panel

 

Notes About the Participants Panel

  • The microphone icon will light up green (audio indicator) to indicate which participants are making noise at any point during the meeting.
  • If participants raise their hands or use any of the reactions/nonverbal feedback options in the bottom toolbar, the Participants Panel will display these icons next to their names.
  • Participants can mute/unmute their own audio by hovering their mouse over their own name and selecting Mute.muting your own audio from the Participants Panel
  • Hosts and cohosts have the ability to mute/unmute the audio of individual participants using the Unmute All and Mute All buttons at the bottom of the panel.
  • Hosts can click the More button next to a participant’s name to give them Host privileges, move them to the waiting room, and more.Participant options
  • Hosts can adjust additional meeting settings by clicking on the More button at the bottom of the Participants Panel.More options in Participant Panel for hosts and co-hosts

During a meeting, click on the Chat icon to open the Chat Panel, where you can interact with other participants through simple, text-based messages. If enabled by the meeting scheduler, you can also transfer files via the Chat Panel.
 

Chat button and panel

 

Notes About the Chat Panel

  • Use the dropdown to select whether to send a message to the whole group (Everyone) or one specific participant.
selecting who to send a chat to

 

  • Click the chat options button (chat options button) for additional options, including the ability to save your chat log.

    • Hosts and co-hosts have the ability to restrict who participants can chat with. 
chat options

 

Using the File Transfer Feature

To enable this feature for your meetings, log in to tufts.zoom.us with your Tufts username (e.g. jjumbo01) and password. Click Settings in the left-hand navigation menu, then find the File Transfer setting and click on the slider to turn it on. Additional options will appear.

File Transfer Setting

Once enabled, you can transfer files by clicking the File icon and selecting a file to upload to the Chat Panel. The participants who you send the file to will be able to click on the file and download a copy for themselves.

File transfer option in Chat Panel

 

Beginning on 2/28/21, Tufts Zoom account settings will be set up so that by default only Hosts and Co-hosts can share content in a meeting. However, Hosts/Co-hosts can change this by clicking on the Security button in the bottom toolbar and enabling participant content sharing.

To begin sharing content, click the Share button in the bottom toolbar, select what you want to share, and click Share. Once content sharing has begun, the sharer has the ability to annotate their own shared content, and they can allow other people to annotate as well.

Zoom sharing content

Besides sharing screen content, it also possible to transfer files via the Chat Panel. See the Chat Panel section above for more information.

Notes About Sharing Content

  • If possible, pick one specific application to share (e.g. Microsoft PowerPoint) instead of sharing your whole desktop. Be aware that if you do decide to share your entire desktop, meeting participants will be able to see anything that you have on your screen!
  • Once you begin sharing content, the rest of the meeting window will disappear. A toolbar will appear at the top of the screen which will allow you to manage audio/video, open meeting panels, annotate shared content, and more.Zoom sharing toolbar
    • While sharing, participants can allow each to annotate the shared content by click the More button in the sharing toolbar and click Enable Annotation for Others. They can also show/hide annotators names next to their annotations.Annotation options during sharing

       

  • Hosts can manage sharing settings for the meeting by clicking on the up arrow next to the Share button.Zoom sharing options

Visit the Zoom Help Center for detailed information on polling in Zoom meetings.

When you are ready to leave a Zoom meeting, click the End Meeting button in the bottom toolbar. Depending on the type of meeting and your role, a window will appear with options.

Zoom End meeting options

Note: If you are the host of the meeting and want the meeting to continue without you, use the Participants Panel to assign someone else the host role before you leave!