Sharing Content

Overview

By default, only Hosts and Co-hosts can share content during Tufts Zoom meetings. However, Hosts/Co-hosts can change this by clicking on the Security button in the bottom toolbar and enabling participant content sharing.

To begin sharing content, click the Share Screen button (A) in the bottom toolbar, select what you want to share (B), and click Share (C). Once content sharing has begun, the sharer has the ability to annotate their own shared content, and they can allow other people to annotate as well.

Selecting something to share

Once you begin sharing content, the rest of the meeting window will disappear. A toolbar will appear at the top of the screen which will allow you to manage audio/video, open meeting panels, annotate shared content, and more.

Sharing toolbar

 

By default, sharing screen content during Tufts Zoom meetings is restricted to the Host and Co-hosts. However, there are ways to get around this and additional settings that can be configured.

Allowing Specific People to Share

If you want to allow one or more specific people to share screen content, the Host could do this by going into the Participant panel, clicking the More button, and selecting Make Co-host. (Note: The Co-host role comes with several other privileges, including the ability to manage other participants.)

making someone a co-host from the participant panel

Allowing Everyone to Share

If you want to allow everyone in the meeting to share screen content, the Host or a Co-host can do this clicking the Security icon and allowing participants to “Share Screen.”

allowing all participants to share from the security menu

Additional Sharing Settings

During meetings, Hosts and Co-hosts can configure additional sharing settings by clicking on the up-arrow in the Share Screen icon and selecting Advanced Sharing Options.

Opening advanced sharing options

A window will appear where they can determine how many people can share at once, who can share (Host and Co-hosts only is the default), and when other people can start sharing.

advanced sharing options window

 

If the content you are sharing contains audio and/or video, don’t forget to check the “Share sound” and “Optimize for video clip” boxes toward the bottom of the sharing window before you start sharing.

sharing sound and video

 

By default, only the person who is sharing screen content can annotate that content. To annotate shared content, click the Annotate button in the sharing toolbar.

Annotate option in sharing toolbar

A menu of annotation tools will appear which you can use to mark up the content and erase or save those markups.

annotation tools

As the person who is sharing content, you can allow other people to annotate that content as well. To do so, click the More button in the sharing toolbar and select Enable Annotation for Others. You can also have Zoom Show Names of Annotators as they mark up the screen content.

Enabling annotation for others

Once enabled, other participants can mark up screen content by clicking on View Options at the top of their Zoom window and selecting Annotate. They’ll get an annotation menu similar to the presenter.

Accessing annotation option as a participant after it has been enabled

 

One of the advanced sharing options in Zoom allows you to share only a specific portion of your screen, which you determine using a resizable box. There are many possible situations where this might be preferable, including the fact that it would allow you to share a PowerPoint presentation in “Presenter Mode” in such a way that you can see all of your notes and upcoming slides, but your meeting participants can only see the current slide.

side-by-side view of sharing a portion of a screen for presenter and participants

Sharing a Portion of Your Screen

  1. Click Share Screen in the bottom toolbar.Share Screen button
  2. A window will appear where you can select what you want to share. Click the Advanced tab (A), select Portion of Screen (B), then click Share (C).Sharing a portion of a screen

     

  3. A green box will appear on your screen. You can move the box around and resize it to capture what you want to share. Anything inside of the green box will be shared with participants while anything outside the green box will NOT be shared.Determining what portion of the screen is shared using the resizable green box
  4. When you’re done, click Stop Share in the sharing toolbar.

There are occasions where someone may want to share their entire Zoom meeting window, like when they are demonstrating how to do something in Zoom to other participants, for example. In order to do this, you must first enable Zoom window sharing in your Tufts Zoom settings, then enable it in your Zoom desktop application.

Enabling in Tufts Zoom Settings

  1. Log in to tufts.zoom.us with your Tufts username (e.g. jjumbo01) and password.
  2. Select Settings in the left-hand navigation menu.
  3. Find the “Show Zoom windows during screen share” setting and turn it ON.Enabling Zoom window sharing in Tufts Zoom account settings

     

Enabling in Zoom Desktop Application

  1. Open the Zoom desktop application.
  2. Click the Settings (Settings gear icon) gear icon in the top right corner.Zoom desktop app Settings icon
  3. Click the Share Screen tab on the left, then check the box next to “Show my Zoom Windows to other participants when I am screen sharing”.Enabling Zoom window sharing in Zoom desktop application

Sharing Zoom Windows During Meetings

  1. Click the Share Screen button in the bottom toolbar.Share Screen button
  2. A window will appear where you can select what you want to share. Within the Basic tab (A), select the Desktop/Screen that your Zoom meeting window is located on (B), then click Share (C).sharing your desktop in zoom
  3. Zoom will start sharing your entire screen with the other participants. Keep in mind that participants will be able to see anything on that display that you have open and visible, not just your Zoom meeting window.

 

When breakout rooms are open during a meeting, Zoom allows content to be shared with the main room and all of the breakout rooms simultaneously.

  • The ability to share to breakout rooms is only available for hosts and co-hosts.
  • Once screen sharing starts, content that is being shared in the breakout rooms by other participants will stop.
  • Audio and video are not shared with the breakout rooms. Only static screen content, like PowerPoint slides should be shared. (Note: If you try to share a video, it will not play smoothly for participants in breakout rooms and they will not hear any audio.)
  • This feature doesn’t work in the reverse direction. In other words, you can’t be in a breakout room and share with the other rooms. You have to share from the main session.

Sharing to Breakout Rooms

  1. While breakout rooms are open, click the Share Screen button in the bottom toolbar.
  2. A window will appear. Select what you want to share, check the box next to the “Share to breakout rooms” option at the bottom of the window, and click Share.Selecting "share to breakout rooms"