Waiting Rooms

Enable the Waiting Room

Host and co-hosts can turn the waiting room feature on and off by using the Security Button or the Participant Panel.

  • Click on Security Button in the bottom toolbar, click on Enable Waiting Room. If there is a checkmark next to the Waiting Room option, it is enabled.
  • Click on the Participant button to open the Participant panel. Click on the More button and click on Enable Waiting Room. If there is a checkmark next to the Waiting Room option, it is enabled.

  • Watch the Zoom How to Use Waiting Rooms video to learn more.

Overview

The Waiting Room is a virtual space in Zoom where participants are essentially on hold. Each participant is placed in their own private space. They cannot interact with each other through Zoom. However, the meeting host and co-hosts can send them messages.

Hosts and co-hosts have several options for using the Waiting Room:

  • The Waiting Room feature can be enabled before the meeting during the scheduling process. For more information, see the page on Scheduling a Meeting.
  • Host and co-hosts can enable/disable the Waiting Room during a meeting.
  • Hosts and co-hosts can place individual participants in the Waiting Room, whether or not the Waiting Room feature has been enabled for the entire meeting.

When participants are in the Waiting Room, a notification will appear in the host’s and co-host’s Participant Panel. The host and co-hosts can then admit the participant or deny their request to join. Participants can be admitted individually or all at once.

Options for personalizing your Waiting Room, including who can bypass it, are available in your Zoom settings.

Enabling/Disabling the Waiting Room During Meetings

During a meeting, hosts and co-hosts can turn the waiting room feature on and off in two ways.

Option 1 – From the Security Button

Click on the Security button in the bottom toolbar and click on Enable Waiting Room. If there is a checkmark next to the Waiting Room option, it is enabled.

Enabling the waiting room from the Security menu

Option 2 – From the Participant Panel

Click on the Participant button to open the Participant panel. Click on the More button and click on Enable Waiting Room. If there is a checkmark next to the Waiting Room option, it is enabled.

Enabling the waiting room from the Participant Panel

Sending an Individual Participant to the Waiting Room

At any point during a meeting, hosts and co-hosts can move participants to the Waiting Room. The Waiting Room feature does NOT need to be on for the entire meeting to do this. Go to the Participant Panel, click the More button next to someone’s name, and select Put in Waiting Room.

Sending an individual participant in the Waiting Room

Managing the Waiting Room

When participants are in the Waiting Room, hosts and co-hosts can admit or remove them on an individual basis. Alternatively, they can admit everyone at once by clicking Admit all.

Admitting participants from Waiting Room

They can also broadcast a message to all of the participants in the Waiting Room by clicking on Message. The Chat panel will open and messages can be send to “Everyone (in the Waiting Room)”.

Sending messages to Waiting Room participants